Home » Uncategorized » #learnmoodle

#learnmoodle

I’ve just booted up in #learnmoodle, a MOOC, for Moodle Beginners.

It’s very badgey. Which will be interesting, as I haven’t done a badge based course yet. I’m not a badge earner, personally, but I’m really curious about the experience.

I’m engaging with the opening seminar, covering the pedfagogical background to Moodloe. Social Constructivism, Learning by making, and that we learn by obeserving peer activity, constructing meaning ourselves, and creating artefacts.

This, it’s pretty well known, is only partially true. Perhaps. In certain circumstances. It;s the standard Cinstructivist set of arguemtns that a ) never seem to refer to data and b) always refer to theories, and not evidence.

It looks like it’s liklely that advanced learners may benefitr more from Socially Constrsuctivist Practice, and that novice and intermediate learners benefit more from instructivist approached, with direct instruction.

I admire Moodle. But, as with any pedagogy, the broad base of learners are better supported by a broad base of pedgagogies. And ones that take into account Prior Knowledge, and what that means for the student, are key. 

 

The initial seminar had some great points. Meeting the Moodle Team in situ is cool, the seminar presenter was late to start, becasue of a house move. And his discussion of tbis was really disarming. He was flkuent, fluid, and unflustered, and, even though late, his take on telling us added to the presentation.

It did however, confirm in me my hatred of slides. Nothing personal here, but I get so little from slide technology that covers large amounts of material, and so much more from interaction, that, well, I need to work out ways to stitch together the best from both experiences.

Slides do have advantages. Structure, reproducability (but this is typically a limited avantage in many cases).

Tips for me:

I noted in the slides that the screenshots are not that good for me. I have difficulty with forms, new interfaces, and fuind them difficult to navigate. So, for me, using annotated screenshots, or live screenstreams, are good. The seminar used some, and at times didn’t.

The course descriptors are laid out, and you can scoop down trhough it and skip ahead or back based on need, or scoop up the badges that are new to you. So you can snag week four on day one if that’s what you need to do.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

